Research axes

The Chair’s research program is structured around three axes :

Digital communication technology practices and relationship to knowledge

This axis examines the transformations taking place in the production and circulation of information and knowledge. It investigates digital infrastructure growth (digitization of content, people and data networking) and the diversification of content producers (professionals, amateurs, the general public) in a variety of areas, particularly within scientific groups. In what way do new information and knowledge relationships follow the networking of people and contents? To what extent does the increase in knowledge producers, beyond the scientific sphere, lead to knowledge diversification (amateur, citizen, and “lay” knowledge) and new forms of knowledge circulation and validation? 

Keywords : participatory science; citizen science; experiential knowledge; scientific social networking sites; science 2.0


Communication technology practices and digital cultures

This axis examines emerging digital cultures. It investigates how digital communication technologies mediate social relationships and studies the links between the proliferation of participatory practices and Internet use. In what way do online artistic, participative and collaborative practices contribute to the emergence of digital cultures, and do they participate in broader social and cultural changes? In a context where connectivity is at the heart of contemporary communication practices, is there a new normative order for sociability, communication and online co-ordination? How can we understand digital materiality and the role of objects circulating in online communities?

Keywords : consumption practices of online and mobile audiovisual content among youth; online viewing; online sociability; digital materiality


Digital technology practices and socio-political issues

This axis focuses on the analysis of power relations and ethical issues associated with the production and the use of digital data and digital infrastructures. It investigates whether digital technologies generate new spaces for articulating sociopolitical issues, especially those involving gender and identity (including minority and marginalized identities). How do digital technologies relate to citizen resistance practices and question dominant norms? How does the production and circulation of digital identities strengthen power relations or, to the contrary, challenge them? What ethical issues result from the proliferation of “datafication”?

Keywords : power relations; ethical issues; minority identities; kind; data; datafication

This content has been updated on 30 January 2020 at 0 h 10 min.

Axes de recherche

Le programme de recherche de la Chaire s’articule autour de trois axes :

Usages des technologies numériques de communication et rapports à la connaissance

Cet axe vise l’analyse des transformations des modalités de production et de circulation de l’information et de la connaissance dans le contexte de la généralisation des infrastructures numériques (numérisation des contenus, mise en réseau des personnes et des données) et de la diversification des producteurs de contenus (professionnels, amateurs, grand public) dans une diversité de secteurs, et notamment dans les milieux scientifiques. En quoi la mise en réseau des personnes et des contenus s’accompagne-t-elle de nouveaux rapports à l’information et à la connaissance? Dans quelle mesure l’élargissement des producteurs de connaissances au-delà de la sphère scientifique engendre-t-il une diversification des registres de savoirs (savoirs amateurs, citoyens, « profanes ») et de leurs modes de circulation et validation?

Mots clefs: science participative ; science citoyenne; savoirs expérientiels; sites de réseaux sociaux scientifiques; science 2.0


Usages des technologies de communication et cultures numériques

Cet axe vise l’analyse des cultures numériques émergeant dans le contexte de l’omniprésence des technologies numériques de communication dans la médiation des rapports sociaux et de la prolifération de pratiques contributives associées aux usages de l’internet contemporain. En quoi les pratiques expressives, participatives et collaboratives sur internet contribuent-elles à l’émergence de cultures numériques participant de mutations sociales et culturelles plus larges? Dans un contexte où la connectivité est au cœur des pratiques de communication contemporaines, assiste-t-on à la formation d’un nouvel ordre normatif pour la sociabilité, la communication et la coordination en ligne? Comment comprendre la matérialité numérique et le rôle des objets circulant au sein de communautés en ligne ?

Mots-clefs: pratiques de consommation de contenus audiovisuels connectées et mobiles chez les jeunes; visionnement connecté; sociabilités en ligne; matérialité numérique


Usages des technologies numériques et enjeux sociopolitiques 

Cet axe vise l’analyse des rapports de pouvoir et des enjeux éthiques liées à la production et l’utilisation des données et infrastructures numériques, et questionne les technologies numériques en tant que productrices de nouveaux espaces d’articulation d’enjeux sociopolitiques, notamment sur les plans du genre et de l’identité (incluant des identités minoritaires et marginalisées). Comment les usages des technologies numériques s’insèrent-ils dans les pratiques citoyennes de résistance ou de contestation de normes dominantes?  Comment la production et la circulation des identités numériques permet-elle le renforcement des relations de pouvoir ou au contraire leur mise au défi? Quels enjeux éthiques soulève la propension à la « mise en données du monde » (datafication)?

Mots-clefs : rapports de pouvoir; enjeux éthiques; identités minoritaires; genre; données; datafication

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 6 octobre 2017 à 4 h 15 min.