LabCMO

The Chair maintains close relations with the Laboratory for Communication and the Digital (LabCMO), formerly known as the Computer-Mediated Communication Laboratory. The LabCMO brings together researchers interested in digital technologies and media uses and the changes they generate in society. The LabCMO is co-directed by Florence Millerand and Guillaume Latzko-Toth. Several academic activities are organized jointly by the Chair and the Laboratory.

The LabCMO’s research mobilizes interdisciplinary approaches, mostly qualitative or mixed, to address contemporary issues such as digital media and their publics; emerging information and cultural practices and, new mediating devices; sociability, identity and political action online; citizen engagement in a digital context; the socio-political issues of informational capitalism and alternative movements (open-source software, peer production, citizen science, open data, etc.); work and collaborative dynamics in digital environments.

Founded in 2002, the LabCMO spans two main campuses: the Université du Québec à Montréal and the Université Laval (Québec). In total, nearly 20 researchers and 70 graduate students and postdoctoral fellows from 5 academic institutions are affiliated with the LabCMO. It hosts graduate students in Communications, Sociology, STS (Science, Technology and Society) and related disciplines, as well as Ph.D. and postdoctoral fellows on an ongoing basis.

The LabCMO is supported by the Fonds de recherche du Québec — Société et culture — and is affiliated with the Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur la science et la technologie (CIRST).

This content has been updated on 11 June 2019 at 0 h 13 min.

LabCMO

La Chaire entretient des relations étroites avec le Laboratoire sur la communication et le numérique (LabCMO),  anciennement Laboratoire de communication médiatisée par ordinateur. Le LabCMO regroupe des chercheur.e.s s’intéressant aux usages des technologies et médias numériques sous l’angle des mutations qu’ils suscitent dans la société. Le LabCMO est codirigée par Florence Millerand et Guillaume Latzko-Toth. Plusieurs activités académiques sont organisées conjointement par la Chaire et le Laboratoire.

Les travaux du LabCMO mobilisent des approches interdisciplinaires, majoritairement d’orientation qualitative ou mixte, pour aborder les médias numériques et leurs publics; les pratiques informationnelles et culturelles émergentes et les nouveaux dispositifs de médiation; la sociabilité, l’identité et l’agir politique en ligne; l’engagement citoyen en contexte numérique; les enjeux sociopolitiques du capitalisme informationnel et des mouvements alternatifs (logiciel libre, production par les pairs, science citoyenne, données ouvertes, etc.); le travail et les dynamiques de collaboration dans les environnements numériques.

Fondé en 2002, le LabCMO s’étend sur deux campus principaux, respectivement à l’Université du Québec à Montréal et à l’Université Laval (Québec). Au total, près de 20 chercheur.e.s et 70 étudiant.e.s aux cycles supérieurs et stagiaires postdoctoraux, provenant de 5 institutions universitaires y sont affiliés. Il accueille sur une base continue des étudiant.e.s aux cycles supérieurs en communication, sociologie, STS (science, technologie et société) et disciplines connexes, ainsi que des stagiaires doctoraux et postdoctoraux.

Le LabCMO est soutenu par le Fonds de recherche du Québec – Société et culture et affilié au Centre interuniversitaire de recherche sur la science et la technologie (CIRST).

Ce contenu a été mis à jour le 11 juin 2019 à 0 h 13 min.